Auburn Celebrates 35th Anniversary of 1983 Team

Posted on

On Saturday June 1, players, members and staff of the Auburn Tigers will gather for the 35th reunion of the great 1983 War Eagle team that finished 11-1, won the SEC Championship, and the National Championship as awarded by the Billingsley Report. The Tiger’s only loss was an early season 20-7 decision to national powerhouse Texas on September 7. Auburn then sailed through the #1 most difficult schedule of the 1983 season, capped by a 9-7 win over highly regarded #8 Michigan in the Sugar Bowl.

Led by quarterback Randy Campbell and fueled by Bo Jackson, the 1983 Auburn team is ranked #4 on the list of All Time Tiger Teams which covers 126 years of Auburn football. 1983 is eclipsed only by the 1972 (10-1) “Punt Bama Punt” team, and the undefeated teams of 2004 (13-0), and 2010 (14-0). The 2010 team, Auburn’s All Time Best, is ranked as the 9th greatest college football team in the entire 150 year history of the sport according to Billingsley’s Encyclopedia.


  • Richard Billingsley, and the Staff of The College Football Research Center Salute the 1983 National Champion Auburn Tigers!